Homosexuality

Homosexual:  those who are attracted to members of the same sex. Homosexuality is considered a deviant act and goes against the social norms and values of our culture in the minds of heterosexuals. Sexual Orientation plays a huge part in the ways in which people judge one another based off who they are as a human. There are four different types of sexual identity:  Straight, Bisexual, Gay and Lesbian, all in which plays a part in roles we play and norms of society, relating to family, gender and marriage.

We are all obligated to pay taxes and follow the laws. But as we know, many are not living by the laws nor are we really paying taxes when we put single down on our tax return because homosexual marriage is not allowed by state law. Homosexual humans  are not given the same rights as heterosexual humans because we, as deviant people, are not granted  the same respect as those who follow the norms of the culture. However, no matter your gender, race, ethic background or sexual orientation, every U.S. citizen deserves the same opportunities as everyone one else. First we need to change the definition of what marriage stands for and end using the label of “Gay” to simply two people falling in love. Ending discrimination, homophobia, ignorance and the rejection of one’s true self.

Growing up as a homosexual has been a long, confusing road, due to the ways I grew up in the church and to the beliefs that were instilled in me. We humans are being constantly hammered with a moral code that contradicts our parents telling us to express ourselves and be who we are. I’ve known I was gay since I was in the eighth grade, however, I just came out a year ago to my family and recently to my friends and made it public on Facebook. This is one of the biggest fears that I have faced, but I finally feel free to be me and being free to be who I am and who I was created to be has been one of the greatest and sweetest joys that I’ve come to know. Living a life of secrets, lies and living in the unknown of what people may say or think about me, held me in bondage.  But now I’m finally set free! Life is too short to be something you’re not. Live life to the fullest; only you can make you happy. Fight for what you believe in, after all we do have freedom of speech.

Leave a Reply

